NaNoWriMo and ‘Failure’

So this is the second time I’ve not succeeded in writing 50,000 words in thirty days out of the three times I have tried it.

I think the main thing for me is that NaNoWriMo is a personal goal, but isn’t my first priority.  I am in my twenties, with a newish job at a pretty particular company, 19 rats to look after, and a house that no one is going to keep clean on my behalf for a month while I go do something else.  I really enjoy writing, don’t get me wrong, but it isn’t the passion for me that it once was.  Now it’s a pleasant distraction, fun and frustrating in equal measures.  I have no delusions that I’ll ever write a best seller, and I certainly won’t live off of royalties.  I might one day publish something, and I hope that whatever it is entertains my readers, grabs their attentions and holds them through a few hours of an exciting world vastly different from this one.  I don’t really aspire to more than that, and NaNoWriMo is a tool I use to push myself towards that goal, and isn’t so much a goal in and of itself.  Besides which, it isn’t important that I didn’t write 50,000 words.  It is important that I wrote about 14,000 more words than I might otherwise have done.  And that’s good enough for me.

If you participated in NaNoWriMo, how did you do this year?  Did you accomplish what you wanted to?

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo and ‘Failure’

  1. Any extra words is good – last year I didn’t finish but I still have that (start of a) novel, and it’s nearly doubled in length since then. Nothing goes to waste… ;-)
    Totally off topic but I love your rat pics, have been looking at the babies!

    1. Yeah, I think NaNoWriMo makes a great kick-starter. I always seem to write more / better when I have a challenge or a prompt or something like that.

      :-) The ratkids are growing so fast!! I should take more pictures- the light coloured ones have even changed their markings a bit since the last photos.

Leave a Reply

