I have something I want to say…

but I’m not really sure how I want to say it, or even how I ought to respond.

One of my coworkers – nearly a friend – has been diagnosed with breast cancer.  It’s small, and they think they’ve caught it early, but she is visibly shaken in the way of stoic people everywhere.

I wish these things were easier to deal with, and I wish that it were simpler to know what to do or say to help when really there isn’t anything I can do about it.  I could wish that these things never happened, but life is what it is and without things like this the world would be a very different place.  The point is that I do not have the right to make decisions like that- after all, what do I know about what the world would be like otherwise?  What if it would be worse in ways I can’t imagine?

I guess I can only flounder around trying to do what seems the best in the moment.  Is there any other way for people to live, I wonder?  Aren’t we all just floundering in the hopes that things turn out well?

One thought on “I have something I want to say…

Leave a Reply

