Elemental, My Dear

I’m reading an anthology right now, of short stories based in the universe of Mercedes Lackey’s Elemental Masters Series.

I really enjoy the anthologies Mercedes Lackey puts out- they’re a great opportunity to see what other authors can do with someone else’s world.  In the past few years a new anthology of Valdemar stories has been put out once a year, and while many of the authors are relatively unknown, I do find the majority of their writing to be of high enough quality that I am not disappointed- on average I dislike 1 or 2 out of an anthology of 15-20 stories.

In this most recent anthology (Elemental Masters), I’ve been disappointed twice so far and I haven’t reached the end yet!  I think my problem with these particular stories is that there wasn’t any sensible conclusion to them- they just stopped without warning.  I really hope the rest of them fare better!

13 thoughts on “Elemental, My Dear

  1. Awesome blog you have here but I was wanting to know if you
    knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics talked about here?
    I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get feed-back from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

  2. Hey would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m looking
    to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m
    looking for something unique. P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    1. This is WordPress blog. It allows for many different custom themes- the background at the moment is a photograph which I took in December. I tend to change my theme quite frequently.
      I don’t mind that you’re off-topic at all! I like when people have questions, it means they’re interested / curious, which is always a good sign!

    1. I’m glad you’ve enjoyed my site, and I hope you continue to enjoy it going forward!

      Your website design is simple and cute- for a business it’s not too bad, if a little more conservative than I’d like.

    1. Welcome to Just A Thought,

      WordPress provides a little button that says “Follow,” at the top left of the page. If you have a WordPress Account, and you click that button, then my posts will appear on your “Reader” page.

      If you don’t have a WordPress Account, then there is a section on the left of the main page of the blog which says “Follow Blog Via Email,” and there is a little orange button under it that says “Follow.” If you click that orange button, then my posts will appear in the email you give to the site.

      I hope you enjoy!

      ~Beth

Leave a Reply

