and don’t care about waiting a really long time for it, then you should try Donato Salon & Spa at Square One Mall (it’s in Mississauga, Ontario).

DonatoSalonSpa_lg

I’ve had my hair dyed there twice, cut once, and permed once.  I have to say the end results are always acceptable, but have so far never managed to be exactly what I asked for.  Those of you who regularly go to salons: is this usual?  I have to say I’m a little disappointed.

In addition to the slightly unsatisfying results, I’ve spent a good two to three hours at the salon each time, which easily surpasses the usual 45 minutes I’ve spent at other places.  The first time I was really surprised, and quite annoyed, since I missed another appointment I’d had scheduled for that day.  The next two times I knew better and planned for the rest of the day to be plan-free just in case- I also brought a book because the magazines there were extremely boring to someone who doesn’t read fashion and beauty regularly.

The location is lovely and modern, and quite clean.  However, the atmosphere always feels strange to me- the staff seem to be chronically over-booked, and the patrons long-suffering and a little impatient.

On the other hand, the prices for a high-end salon are quite decent, and the tip is already factored into the price, so you don’t have to worry about that.  I’ll probably go back again, mainly for that reason, and just accept that I won’t get exactly what I’m looking for, especially since the results are quite good despite that.

If you want to have a look, their website is: http://www.donato.ca/

donato_logo

Leave a Reply

