It’s no surprise that I’m thinking about our impending move- tensions are high, stress is high, the boxes keep piling higher in our halls (but not, of course, fast enough).

I’m stalling and I know it.  The move itself and our future condo-home do not especially worry me, though I am worried that we might not get the place we really want.  What does worry me is the possibility that we’ll be vagrants living in Hans’ parents’ basement for months and months on end.  Part of the reason we’re moving in the first place is so I can get around easier (I don’t drive), and Hans’ parents live in an area that’s almost more isolated than where we are now.  There are all the usual things that come up when living in someone else’s home, too, and I really don’t want to seem ungrateful- they’re really nice people and already they’ve done so much for us that it’s bound to be an awkward situation.  On the other hand, they really are awesome people, and it will probably be fun having more people around more often (it gets pretty lonely sometimes at home), and I’m definitely looking forward to being around their silly lab-dog, Penny, and being obliged to take her for walks should help improve my health.  As much as I love our Ratkids, I do very much miss having a dog.  There are other things that worry me, too- what if the house doesn’t sell? What if none of the condos are willing to take us with our Squeak-Creatures? What if our stuff gets damaged while it’s in storage?  What if we can’t afford the storage? What if we can’t afford the place we want?  What if the real estate agent botches something in the sale or purchase?

The list just does not stop, and it runs every night when I’m trying to sleep.  So yeah, while I love moving in general, the worry-o-meter’s pretty much broken its end and I’m stuck in this irritating limbo of not knowing.  I’m looking forward to when it’s all over.

moving-disaster

 

Links:

U-Haul

– great, inexpensive way to move your own stuff & store it, too:  http://www.uhaul.com/

Home Depot

– for all those little projects which will make your home show better: http://www.homedepot.ca/

Canadian Tire

– for anything Home Depot doesn’t have, and anything you might need for your new place: http://www.canadiantire.ca/home.jsp?site=WebStore

Moving Madness

-article about moving disasters, which I am both glad and dismayed now that I’ve read: http://www.propertyfinder.ae/en/news-and-advice/moving/moving-madness-things-you-don-t-want-to-hear-40.html

Leave a Reply

