SFW: Dragon on a Pedestal

Dragon on a Pedestal by Piers Anthony

Dragon_on_a_Pedestal

I always really enjoy the Xanth novels, and as I’m reading them in order, gradually, this is the next one on my list.  This one is about the infant daughter of the king and queen of Xanth, following her journey and the journey of her mother (and friends) to get her back.  I am currently on page 407 of 702, reading on my iPad.  I have to say that I’m pretty busy right now so it is taking me longer than usual to read it, and my credulity is a little stretched because the main protagonist is so young that she shouldn’t be able to speak.  I do, however, love the issues Anthony is tackling here, and I love the way he’s tackling them in such an gentle and unobtrusive way- if I hadn’t had a university education in literature, I suspect I wouldn’t notice that he’s making his readers think about such heavy topics without making the story difficult to read.  I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read it yet, so I’ll leave it there, but I do want to say I really love the approach he takes with Zombie Zora.

If you read this book, or have read it, please let me know what you think!

 

Links:

Image credit: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/5/58/Dragon_on_a_Pedestal.jpg

at Chapters: http://www.chapters.indigo.ca/books/dragon-on-a-pedestal/9780345349361-item.html?ikwid=dragon+on+a+pedestal&ikwsec=Home&gcs_requestid=0CLjN4aWd1rcCFcNH5wod23sALg

Kobo eBook: http://www.chapters.indigo.ca/books/dragon-on-a-pedestal/9780345454362-item.html?ikwid=dragon+on+a+pedestal&ikwsec=Home&gcs_requestid=0CLjN4aWd1rcCFcNH5wod23sALg

5 thoughts on “SFW: Dragon on a Pedestal

    1. I’ve never read the Apprentice Adept series- maybe I’ll take a look when my reading list is empty…

      As a kid I used to read mostly at the library, and they didn’t have most of the Xanth books. I didn’t want to start in the middle, so I bided my time. :-)

      1. ‘Empty’ was a poor choice of words, perhaps ‘less full’ would be more accurate. Incarnations of Immortality is the only other series by Anthony which I have read.

Leave a Reply

