January Cure Assignments 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 & 11

Yikes, I’m behind in my reporting!

Okay, so Assignment 6 was to prepare artwork for framing. I knew already which piece I wanted to frame. It’s this one:
IMG_0807
I took it to Michael’s yesterday and while I was there I picked up some other frames for smaller pieces- most of those are postcards, which I collect, but one is a larger poster print which will hang in my bathroom with Bomarzo. Sadly, Bomarzo will be done one day after we’re supposed to be hanging the picture, but the lady assured me that he might be done early since the frame is really simple and there will be no matting.

Assignment 7 was flowers, kitchen cleaning and making a home-cooked meal. I managed most of it, though the kitchen is still far from being done, and no cooked meal came out of the weekend’s work. The kitchen is much better than it was before (still only part-way unpacked) but I feel a real sense of accomplishment. There were a few weeks where I really didn’t even want to step foot in the kitchen it was that bad. I’ll give you some after photos, and show you the flowering plants I got as well to make up for how un-lovely the kitchen is!


Assignment 8 was to organize a get-together, which I had actually already planned, by coincidence. Hans & I host our friends one weekend out of every month for a Weekend Thingie at which we mostly play board games, sometimes D&D, and occasionally some video games. Now and then we’ll have drinks as well, but most of our friends (us included) aren’t really big drinkers, and one is even allergic to alcohol. I should put some more details into the Facebook event, though, now that I think about it…

Assignment 9 is all about creating a place to filter out the things you don’t want to bring into your home, to get rid of mail and sort shopping. I do have something like that, but I also have plans to add coat hooks and some other useful things to the area- I’m hoping to get that done this weekend when we go to Ikea. I’ll show you what it looks like now, and then once it’s ready I’ll post an after picture.
IMG_0808

I actually did Assignment 10 this morning. I put away my iPad and my phone and spent the morning drinking tea, eating yoghurt, and reading a good book- it was so satisfying to just take the time for myself. I hadn’t realized how much time I was spending chasing people through the internet and texting, or how much I was just killing time on app games!

Assignment 11 for today is to continue the project chosen earlier, for Assignment 5, but since I’ve actually finished that project, I thought I’d spend some more time on the kitchen, which I have been working on steadily for the past few weeks. I’ll give you a photo tomorrow so you can see the progress I make today!

Just keep swimming!

Leave a Reply

