gone_banner

A friend of mine suggested this series by Michael Grant, so I read the first book (Gone).  This is definitely a young adult novel, and so far it involves a lot of convenient coincidences.  Now, these may turn out to have good plausible explanations later on in the series, and I really hope they do.  The story is told by teenagers, and believably so.  Each character behaves, speaks and thinks in a way that I can easily believe for someone of their age.  One young boy is autistic, and his interactions and the descriptions of his behaviour and the way the other characters interact with him are also quite believable.  Unfortunately, kids are sometimes jerks, and you may find the things they say and do uncomfortable to read- I know I did.

The premise and plot are so far well handled, and I was sucked in after I’d put up with the first few chapters to the extent that I stayed up all night to finish it in one sitting.  If you read it and enjoy it, or read it and hate it, let me know, I’d love to see what you think of Grant’s novel Gone.

Links:

Gone on Amazon:  Click here
Gone at Indigo/Chapters:   Click Here
Audio Book at eBookee:   Click Here
Image Source: http://www-gonebook.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

