I don’t know if any of you are interested at all in anime, but since I’ve taken up watching this series I thought I’d tell you about it.

Fullmetal Alchemist is about two brothers who attempt human transmutation in order to bring their mother back from the dead.  Predictably this does not go well, and they go on a quest to fix what they’ve done.  At the most basic level, this is the story which all of the Fullmetal Alchemist adaptations tell.  The narrative style is quite different between the first series and the remake, but many of the same plot points appear in both.

I watched the original anime (and its movie sequel) quite a few years ago, and hadn’t gotten around to seeing this remake until this past week. I’m conflicted. I like it, but I feel like the graphic style and the visual polish of the first version is not present in the remake. The story is subtly different, and I’ve heard that Brotherhood follows the plot of the manga more closely than the original anime did. I enjoyed the original so much that Brotherhood would have to be really really bad for me not to want to keep watching. I have to admit, though, that it doesn’t grip me as well as the original did and I can’t recommend it to someone who hasn’t seen the earlier show.

Links

Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood on Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fullmetal_Alchemist:_Brotherhood

The original Fullmetal Alchemist anime on Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fullmetal_Alchemist_(anime)

Image Source (on DeviantArt): http://narusailor.deviantart.com/art/Wallpaper-Fullmetal-Alchemist-Brotherhood-415521865

Leave a Reply

