“I dreamed I had lost the ability to fly- I was trying, and trying but I could only get a few feet of height before the ground pulled me down again. It wasn’t a new dream- I’d had variations on it many times throughout my life. I sometimes thought it was some sort of warning not to rely too much on my imagination, and I’ve always been pretty practical despite how much I would like to believe in the unattainable and impossible more promised by magic and science fiction. As I drifted in and out of consciousness, I thought I was living science fiction. Not as alluring or terrifying as dragons, I guess, but I’d take what I could get.”

One thought on “CoW: Excerpt from my Camp NaNo writing project

Leave a Reply

