08/2012-07/14/2014

Gender: female

Description: Grey Self

Why do things like this have to happen? We’ve had one rat die in this way before- we aren’t sure if it is a stroke, a seizure, or a broken back, but the symptoms have been the same both times. The first was Senora, many years ago- we rushed her to the emergency vet in the middle of the night but they had to euthanize her before morning. This time, I had Eilir out just half an hour before and walked by the cage to see her in distress. She died in my hands moments later, after a brief struggle. I don’t think she knew I was there. I’m just glad she enjoyed her out time so much earlier. I wish more than anything that I could have done something to make it easier for her.

I’ll tell you a little more about her life later, when I don’t feel so horrible, and when I can smile at her antics again.

Leave a Reply

