I’m reading Wyrd Sisters, by Terry Pratchett, at the moment, and it didn’t take me more than maybe five or six pages to realize that there are some pretty strong correlations between this book and Shakespere’s Macbeth.

I love the tone of Pratchett’s Diskworld books in general, and am coming to love some of his characters more and more.  Death, the three witches (Nanny Og, Granny Weatherwax, and Magrat Garlick, in this case), and the two ghosts I have already met so far in this particular book all intrigue me a great deal.  Unfortunately, all of these characters have some pretty strongly dis-likable characteristics in addition to their endearing qualities- nobody is exempt in a Pratchett novel, and this is maybe the only thing I don’t really love about his books as a whole.  Even in the end when everything turns out more or less alright, I tend to feel there has been no real lasting character growth- Moist Von Lipwig, for example, is still a bit of a sleeze by the end of Going Postal, though he has achieved good results despite himself.

Otherwise, I find the humor and adorable little footnotes to be extremely enjoyable, and for me they (and the ridiculous plot lines) make up for any slight dissatisfaction I may have with immutable characterization.

If you decide to try out Wyrd Sisters, or even Pratchett novels in general, please let me know what you think in the comments, I’d love to hear from you!

Link

Image Source:  http://www.discworldemporium.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=127

Leave a Reply

